TRRA Continuing Education for Referees #2 – Points from a Free Kick

Welcome to another edition of an example of a ref situation. This will be a weekly (or often) post that will cover interpretations of laws from TRRA examples. We will use the TRU Facebook Page as a way to discuss and unify our refereeing in Texas. This week we wanted to cover “Points from a Free Kick”.

Red player is awarded a free kick.  Red player taps the ball through the mark with his/her foot and then proceeds to kick a drop goal.  Drop goal is made.  Points awarded?

Red player is awarded a free kick.  Red captain elects a scrum.  Red scrumhalf passes the ball to Red #10 who kicks a drop goal.  Drop goal is made.  Points awarded?

ANSWER

21.6 SCORING FROM A FREE KICK
(a) A goal cannot be scored from a free kick.
(b) The team awarded a free kick cannot score a dropped goal until after the ball next becomes dead, or until after an opponent has played or touched it, or has tackled the ball carrier. This restriction applies also to a scrum taken instead of a free kick.

NOTE: the last sentence…. This restriction applies also to a scrum taken instead of a free kick.

To view all of the Q&As that we have covered, go here.

Shares 0
0 Shares
Share
Tweet