IRB Ruling 2 of 2012 – Quick Throw-ins and Time

Folks,

IRB Ruling 2 of 2012

This addresses quick throw-ins and the question of whether or not the ball is “dead”. The specifics are regarding the return of a player from the sin bin, and the decision is that the referee may allow a quick throw even if there is a player waiting to return from the bin (with the suspension time expired).

I’ll point out that this is consistent with last month’s application of Law video (clip # 2) addressing offside players at quick throw-ins. In essence, what is said is that the ball isn’t really dead until the option of a quick throw is no longer available.
Enforcement of current Law: http://www.irblaws.com/EN/guidelines/5/enforcement-of-current-law-june-2012

Peter Watson
Chair, USA Rugby Law Committee

Shares 0
0 Shares
Share
Tweet