Law Trials – Scrum engagement procedure clarification

Following the introduction of the” Crouch, Touch, Set” instructions for scrum engagement as part of the current set of Law trials it has become evident that some referees are not leaving a pause between the “Touch” request and the “Set” request. The pause is required to ensure that the front row players are steady and are able to locate where they will engage.

The Scrum Steering Group and the Laws Representation Group have reconfirmed that the Trial Law 20.1(g) should read:
The referee will call “crouch” then “touch”. The front rows crouch and using their outside arm each prop touches the point of the opposing prop’s outside shoulder. The props then withdraw their arms. Following a pause the referee will then call “set” when the front rows are ready. The front rows may then engage. The “set” call is not a command but an indication that the front rows may come together
when ready.

Please note the Referee must not say the word pause. A video resource is under production and will be available at irblaws.com, Law Application Guidelines from Monday January 14, 2013.

Yours sincerely,
David Carrigy
Head of External & Member Relations

View Full Release [PDF]

Shares 0
0 Shares
Share
Tweet